Cranshaws Village Church

Cranshaws Kirk is a small, very rural and delightful church with a long and significant history involving Scottish royalty. A Coat of Arms of James IV is set into the north wall. There has been worship in this parish for over 800 years.

We are within Duns Presbytery, and part of the Duns & District Charge. The church is always open. A colourful booklet is available describing the past and present times of Church & Parish.

Cranshaws is a truly ‘hill’ church, with regular services on 1st & 3rd Sundays at 11.30am. On these Sundays we are a small, informal gathering, using a fairly traditional format with good refreshments. Music is usually from organ, guitar and trombone. Bigger events take place at Easter, Christmas, Harvest etc.

For more information contact the Secretary, Beth, Duns Church Office: 01361 884502, admin@dunsanddistrict.org.uk, or from Bill or Alison Landale: 01361 890242. The minister of the Charge is the Rev. Andrew J. Robertson.

Cranshaws Kirk is Category A listed building. First mentioned in 1275, and possibly dedicated to St Ninian, the 1739 church was rebuilt in 1899 by architect George Fortune in Romanesque Revival style. A detailed description of the architecture can be found here.

It contains royal coat-of-arms of 1471-1500, installed opposite the pulpit by James VI (1566-1625).

Events

Click on an event below to find out more:

Thu 16

Ready Steady Explore Toddler Group

July 16 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm
Thu 23

Ready Steady Explore Toddler Group

July 23 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm
Thu 30

Ready Steady Explore Toddler Group

July 30 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This